Bills Against Evicting Ex-CM From State Bungalows

August 30, 2016 Author: Vishwagujarat
Bills Against Evicting Ex-CM From State Bungalows

Supreme Court earlier directed eviction of former chief ministers from state bungalows within two months. Uttar Pradesh government however stood against it and introduced two bills to facilitate their continuation in government accommodation for life.

Government’s new bill, the Uttar Pradesh Ministers (salaries, allowances and miscellaneous provisions) (Amendment) Bill, 2016 provides for this facility to former chief ministers for life.

The bill facilitates allotment of residences to “minister/ former chief minister defined under the Uttar Pradesh Ministers (salaries, allowances and miscellaneous provisions) Act 1981” and makes them eligible for allotment of type 6 and 7 houses.

“A government residence shall be allotted to a former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, at their request, for the lifetime, on payment of such rent as may be determined from time to time by the Estate Department of the state government,” says the Statement of Objects and Reasons of the bill.

The bill was introduced after the apex court on August 1 directed six former UP chief ministers to vacate their official bungalows in Lucknow. SC said that eviction should take place in two months and pay the rent at market rate for the period falling under unauthorised occupation.

The bill also revises salaries and allowances. It provides that CM and ministers, minister of state will be entitled, throughout the term of their office. A salary of Rs. 40,000 per month will be given while the deputy minister will get a salary of Rs. 35,000 per month.

The government also came up with another bill – The Allotment of Houses Under Control of the Estate Department Bill, 2016. Bill can regulate the allotment of government houses under the control of the estate department to employees and officers of the state government.

It will also regulate the allotment of employees association, political parties, journalists, officers of All India Service, MLAs, MLCs, trusts, ministers, chairman and deputy chairman of Legislative Council, speaker and deputy speaker of Legislative Assembly and Justices.